New ATR 2100x USB-C (Mic Test & Review) – Audiotechnica ATR-2100 Replacement – Podcast Gear

The ATR-2100x USB C microphone replaces the long-standing AudioTechnica ATR-2100, which I've recommended for years. The only surface level difference are the colors (now black), and the newer X model has a USB C connection, versus a USB A connection on the older model.

Additionally, the ATR 2100x model is now $99, versus the $60-70 that it's earlier model was before. Does this earn the additional $30? How do they sound, and what else are the major differences?

Whether you're podcasting, streaming, or recording for YouTube or other videos, check out this mic to see if it's a viable option for you.

Get the ATR-2100x here:

Boom Arm attachment:
Shock Mount attachment:

-=-=-=-=-

Subscribe to this YouTube channel:

-=-=-=-=-

Want to learn more about the smart way to make money online and start a successful online passive income business (without ripping people off or being dishonest)? Then make sure to visit the Smart Passive Income getting started page below:

Be Sociable, Share!

    , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    20 Responses to New ATR 2100x USB-C (Mic Test & Review) – Audiotechnica ATR-2100 Replacement – Podcast Gear

    1. Iñigo Navarro-Rubio March 9, 2020 at 7:30 pm #

      Hey Pat! Loved the video. But yesterday’s streaming was superb. Super helpful! I submitted my wife’s blog (it’s only 3 months old: carpetandrugworld dot com) but I was unlucky and you didn’t review it. When will you do something similar? Thanks so much! You’re such a nice guy

      • Pat Flynn March 9, 2020 at 7:31 pm #

        Should I do more reviews like that? Would they still hold value if they were not live?

      • Iñigo Navarro-Rubio March 9, 2020 at 7:42 pm #

        ​@Pat Flynn Absolutely! Live or not live, it’s super helpful. Sometimes learning what NOT to do is just as important as what to do (especially for newbies). And when you review other people’s sites you get a little bit of both. Besides, the idea of having your site reviewed by Pat Flynn gave me an adrenaline rush. I personally like the live version better, but both would be great. I ran to my computer when I got the notification and I only missed the first 3 minutes.

    2. Cathy Sirvatka March 9, 2020 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks Pat! I thought the newer version had a slightly richer sound. Thanks for demonstrating how incredibly simple it is to use.

    3. Fabiano Pina March 9, 2020 at 7:45 pm #

      I have been trying to get one but it’s been sold out. Now I know why. Thank you.
      I need one for podcasting. Badly

    4. Larry Fetzer March 9, 2020 at 7:46 pm #

      I also thought the “new” had a slightly richer sound. I also like the fact that it doesn’t pick up stray noise that’s off-mike.

      • Pat Flynn March 9, 2020 at 7:48 pm #

        Yeah the old one did that too really well.

    5. Scott Tovey March 9, 2020 at 8:02 pm #

      Cool. I need to rush right out and buy one of those mic stands!

    6. Edwin Covarrubias March 9, 2020 at 8:02 pm #

      I was so happy with the old microphone and actually managed to find it while traveling in South America for $80. Still holds up! Almost 1 million downloads thanks to that little mic. Sadly, the on/off switch got stuck and sank into the “on” position. Are they really not making it anymore?!

    7. George Fenrich March 9, 2020 at 8:08 pm #

      PS: I don’t need no stand… LOL

    8. Lynnette Bryant-Thompson March 9, 2020 at 8:10 pm #

      Hey Pat, love this video. I have been watching your videos about microphones but haven’t bought one yet. Keep up the good work.

    9. S. T. Lakata March 9, 2020 at 8:13 pm #

      I’m a recent podcaster, just using headphone mic and uploading audio into a video to YouTube, so my experience is severely limited. I’ve really enjoyed your videos and I appreciate learning more about podcasting and mics like in this video. Thanks for sharing and offering a mic drawing – that’s really cool!

    10. Brad Bear March 9, 2020 at 8:15 pm #

      Awesome, honest vid Pat. I’d love to know if they tweaked the electronics internally to increase the native gain sensitivity of the mic. As you pointed out, there was a noticeable level difference between the two. However, I don’t think it’s a 30 dollar noticeable difference.

    11. Daniella Baker March 9, 2020 at 8:15 pm #

      Great video! The look on your face when the stand broke was PRICELESS!!! Hope to start my podcast this year, wish me luck! Thanks again for all your helpful advice, reviews, and crucial information.

    12. Randy Kendrick March 9, 2020 at 8:41 pm #

      Seems like a great on the go mic. Good review, Pat.

    13. Nicolás D. Rodríguez C. March 9, 2020 at 9:16 pm #

      Definitely a worthy review about the new one!

      I’m starting to write my content but haven’t got my microphone yet precisely cause of the price increase.

    14. Timothy Doyle March 9, 2020 at 9:18 pm #

      I was looking to get ATX2100 now I might get the X. I liked the extra power it has. The stand is far not with the time it took to make it. Like you said, ” we don’t use the stand.” Thanks for the great work you do even on little reviews
      like these.

    15. John Pullum March 9, 2020 at 9:42 pm #

      I loved this video as always. I’m happy to see honest reviews of products. They both sounded good, but I don’t know if I’d pay the extra $30 to stay with that brand for just about the same mic.

    16. Everything 80's Podcast March 9, 2020 at 9:54 pm #

      That poor stand never stood a chance… This is great timing as I’m looking for a new mic for my show. This sounded really good in the review and I feel there’s a real improvement on the 2100

    17. Jorge R. March 9, 2020 at 10:17 pm #

      I loved the video I was laughing when you broke the stand, just watching you and your reaction I could sense how cheap the plastic is. Yes, I agree with others here, the new has better sound, problem are the plosives but I think with a nice pop filter will work. Will I pay 100 bucks for it? I don’t think so, better I wait for the giveaway.. LOL!

    Leave a Reply